the aftermath.

Photo Credit: Corbis

So here’s the thing:

  • I got dumped.
  • In Greece.
  • Over a five minute phone call.
  • About a week before my twenty first birthday.
  • While on my period.

And yeah, on paper it sounds pretty bad. In fact, every time I retell the story it sounds a little worse. And I’m angry, and I’m upset, and I’m a tumultuous concoction of emotions because on top of it all, I now have a trip to Italy that we had planned together, to reconfigure alone (after I had initially planned it alone once before)… but despite all of that, I’m also really happy. And here’s why.

Resilience is a virtue I discovered on this trip. And it begins with a blog post I read about a beach in California.

Located in Fort Bragg is a an area dubbed “glass beach,” and it is the definition of mother nature’s resiliency against human destruction. So here’s the story: in 1906 an earthquake in San Francisco caused most of downtown Fort Bragg’s buildings to crumble and dismantle. As devastation spread and debris piled up, rather than burning the remains like they once had, they decided to cast their town’s excess debris into the ocean.

They believed it would wash away; but this was not the case.

Instead, the debris remained in the cove and eventually what this town’s citizens had created was an ocean dump. A hundred or so years later however, tidal waves and the fruition of weathering, aging, sand and saltwater lead to the creation of sea glass through a process known as “hydration.” Now, I won’t get into the specifics…   but years of humans dumping garbage into the coastline near the northern part of Fort Bragg ultimately resulted in an abundance of sea glass.

Discarded, unwanted, forgotten garbage… had transformed into a beautiful thing of wonder. Think about that. 

Here’s how I’m choosing to form sea glass out of my garbage.

I was, in a way, tossed aside like a piece of garbage. But having been tossed, I am now free to experience this journey all on my own as I see fit.

I have spent almost every day since the age of sixteen in a relationship with one individual or another believing that it brought me happiness. And those relationships did. But arguably, they also brought me sadness. The idea of being alone made me scared, and so I continued to seek companionship. Here’s the thing though,  I no longer feel the same way. I have conquered this journey here to Greece all on my own, and in the process I’ve heard from so many individuals that I carry strength, beauty, and worthiness within me.

The last man I was with saw me as garbage (in this given analogy at least.. I don’t really believe he saw me that way), but every other individual I’ve surrounded myself with recently, has seen me as sea glass. And in the end, I think that’s what matters.

Here’s to all you other pieces of sea glass out there. Shine bright, and realize your worth. And if you ever question it, contact me. I’ll be sure to correct your perspective in a heartbeat.

x

*Sea Glass Beach still exists, however much of the sea glass has been taken by visitors. The beach itself/ park are also beautiful by the looks of it, however.

Leave a Reply

