Tiny Gestures (one on human kindness)

14716082_10207710198969333_5029907584241283099_n

via Daily Prompt: Tiny

I’ve been neglecting this blog. It hasn’t been on purpose, it’s been the unintended consequence of overscheduling myself.

Here’s one on tiny gestures creating sustainable, meaningful impact.

For the last three or so years, I’ve worked as a barista for a fairly well-known coffee co. Now in those three years, I’ve encountered a range of humans: the majority have been kind, a handful have destroyed my spirit, a few have been blatant shmucks, some have become friends and a select few have genuinely bestowed onto me greater kindness and knowledge than I would’ve ever thought strangers could.

I’m choosing to write about one of those latter folks today.

I had a tiny customer make a tiny gesture of kindness that resulted in a great surge of much-needed encouragement the other day.

A regular I’ve helped for years recently came in and handed me the coin pictured above. In passing, I’d mentioned to him bits and pieces about my summer travels. In passing, I’d revealed my life to him. I had mentioned how much I missed Greece; how much I missed travel and excitement and culture and pure mindset.

A few nights following a particularly in-depth conversation on missing mindset over everything, he came in and handed me this. He hadn’t even come in for coffee, he had come in because he’d seen me inside.

He had picked up this coin in Athens years ago and carried it around every day since. As he explained it, this coin had become his reminder of Greece and his mark of good luck.
He then told me to keep it and said that it was my turn to remember.

He and I have shared such tiny moments together– two to three minute conversations a few times a week, at times going months without seeing each other. But we’ve always had a knack for picking right back up from when we’d last seen each other.
He and I have shared such tiny blips of insight into each other’s lives.
He and I have such tiny understandings of who the other is.
He and I have such a tiny relationship, and yet, his tiny gesture moved me so greatly.

So here’s to tiny being just enough.

x

Leave a Reply

